Platform Update - Blob Attributes, Time at Value Aggregation, MQTT Broker at the Edge

Hello Beautiful People, I’m Fox. I’m on the Education Team here at Losant. Today, I wanted to point you to our latest platform update.

The update includes:

We cover a lot more in the blog:

I am new to losant. With the new attribute blob I wonder how I could connect any of the Wifi cameras on Amazon. Any suggestions how to pick one easily connectable to losant?
Jacek

This is something we’ll have to do some research on. Gaining access to raw image data on modern WiFi cameras has gotten fairly difficult. They all come with apps and cloud services and make it hard/impossible to access to the underlying image data.

So unfortunately I don’t know of an inexpensive camera off the top of my head that is easy to use. The tutorials we wrote as part of this release use the Raspberry Pi Camera.

Thanks Brandon, there tonnes of $50 cameras on Amazon which are nicely packaged fornoutdoor, even 2-way voice and IR so it would not smart to re-invent the hardware . I hope we will find a way.probably one of those cloud services would have MQTT. I will broadcast if I find anything suitable
Thanks a lot. J.

Brandon,

check this picture. Following your tutorial with Google PIcture AI this is what I get. Cute. I found great work-around on Wifi Cameras to experiment - a software from Korean SeeCiTV which recommends to use old phone for it. It took 10 minutes to set it up and get pictures from my window You can choose single picture or streaming, even voice. The data appears on Google Drive.

I know you do not want to recommend anything outside losant, but maybe you saw something how to get such pictures automatically from Google Drive losant?
Thank you

Jacek

blocked.gif

snowlineAI.png

That could work well. I’ve never personally used Google Drive with Losant, however they do have an API. I don’t have any guidance on how to use that API with Losant, but something you could certainly explore.