[SOLVED] Two different Particle Device ID's reporting to all workflows, Need to separate

Good afternoon,
I have set up two different devices with separate device ID’s. Both devices are running the same code and I want to be able to have different workflows and dashboards for each device.

The problem I am having is that no matter which device is on they run through all the workflows. If I turn both on they both report to all the workflows.
I am attaching screenshots as I assume this is a rookie mistake somewhere. Please let me know if you spot the mistake. I am new to Losant so just stared on my second device to make sure I could separate the device data. I still have lots to learn.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Device A

50%20PM

Device B

Workflow GET Settings

Workflow State Settings

Hi Thomas,

I think your issue is that you are looking up a device based on the particle_device_id, but then in the Device State Node, you are selecting a specific device instead of setting the device id from the payload. So under device state, I would select the “Use a Device ID specified on the current payload”. If you want to have two separate workflows that only affect report state to one Losant Device, then you will need to set up two separate particle integrations.

Dashboards can display data from several devices and across applications, so if you are thinking you are required to have one workflow for one dashboard you are not. :smiley: When building your dashboard blocks you will be able to select which devices from which applications you would like to display.

I hope this helps!

Erin

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply Erin.
I tried changing the device state but I keep getting a Validation Error on the debug saying I have an Invalid Device Id:

What did I do wrong here?

Hi Thomas,