Schedule Lights on and off

Hi,

I am new to Losant, but managed to get pretty far with my experiment, right now I am trying to figure out how to add a scheduler to the dashboard. The use case is I want users to be able to schedule lights to come on and off at their user defined times (lights would be triggered via RPC in the workflow) .

I cannot see anything out of the box or obvious that allows this bar the basic input fields with out validation.

Any pointers?

Hi @Jamie_Hook,

There are a couple of ways you can accomplish this, but keep in mind the appropriate approach will depend on your use case! :smile:

I’ll follow up shortly with some screenshots of an example, but I wanted to explain how both options would work.

Data Table

In order to compare the time now to the schedule, you will need somewhere to store the user-defined schedule times. You could store these scheduled times in a Data Table, allowing for easy additions and updates (using the Table: Update Row and Table: Insert Row Nodes). You would then build your workflow with a Timer Node, and query the data table for that time using the Table: Get Rows Node. Using some conditionals, you could then turn on and off the lights depending on the time.

This approach is ideal for a more custom and scalable scheduler.

Cron String

The Timer Node also supports advance scheduling with a Cron string. This approach is ideal for a simple custom schedule, but keep in mind the value is not temptable, and would need to be configured before the workflow is triggered. I use this approach in my own personal reminder workflow to water my plants! Every three days, I send myself a text at 10:30am, triggered by a Timer Node. The Cron string was ideal for my use case here, but I would have moved to the Data Table approach if my schedule needed more customization.

Again, I’ll follow up with an example of this shortly.

Thanks so much!
Julia