Controlling Industrial LED Lighting via ESP8266

I am attempting to write an Arduino code for my ESP8266 (ESP-12E) to function as a PWM generator for LED lighting brightness control. This of course is something I have never done before and there is little information on how to make this function correctly with Losant.

As I understand it, I must make a workflow in order to send a command to update the light level. I can find the “Device: Command” block in the workflow but am unsure how it will grab my setting from my dashboard.

My code is another problem. I finally got my device to connect to Losant thanks to all of the changes necessary due to JSON updates. Any code examples for changing the PWM this way?

I don’t know of any PWM specific examples. In terms of getting the value from a dashboard to the device, I’d recommend the Input Controls Block. It can directly send a device command or invoke a workflow, which can use the Device: Command Node.

I cannot find an Input Controls block on any of the workflows. I was trying to use an Application workflow as the type but that is not a block command using Application or any of the other three workflow types. I have used the Losant API block and a Device: Command block to first grab the current setpoint and then transmit the setpoint. Not sure if my logic works, but it sounds like I can grab live dashboard data this way and MQTT it to the ESP8266.

As far as pulling a range value into the device itself, could you give me a code example? Currently, I am trying to adapt the existing toggle commands you talked about in one of your deep dives. Granted, you were showing that for an embedded edge agent rather than this scenario but I at least have something. I just want to import the range via MQTT and set it as a new value for a variable named LightLevel.

@Aaron_Field,