The Best Way to Arrange MQTT Payload with data from Multiple Peripheral devices

Hi! I am new to JSON/Javascript and I am optimizing an exchange between Edge Agent on Gateway and Cloud. I would appreciate if you help me to fine the easiest way for task.
That’s where I am now:
I have a few peripherial pre-defined devices that I talked to in Modbus RTU and REST API. I process raw data from devices with FUNCTION node filtering out errors and do on-edge convertion to a floating point format. Each FUNCTION NODE generates an array of values with error status and values from a particular device and puts it to “payload.device1”.
I use JSON Encode later for each device to generage encoded payload notes as device1_data;

I send MQTT payload as the following then:

In the reception workflow, I use FUNTION or STRING node after MQTT RECEIVE node to split encoded JSON messages from each device/config data and then only use JSON: Decode node to read finally values from Perifirial devices in the cloud.

This process does not seem to be optimised at all. I tried to save results of Encode function in Edge Agent as output.device1_data, output.device2_data in order to send only {{output}} in MQTT, but it didn’t succeed. Could you suggest me the better way to do so? Thanks

Hi @Alexander_Kondrov,

I believe this process could be optimized by using JSON: Encode after putting all of your processed Device Data (from the Function Nodes) on the payload. Then you can use one JSON: Encode Node to encode the entire object. Here is an example:

I have a workflow that puts three random numbers on my payload all in different locations, but are nested within the working object, like so:

My payload for working will now look like this:
07%20PM

So I then use a JSON: Encode Node and can see the result on my payload:

Hopefully this helps,
Julia

1 Like

Hi Julia,