If I send a command to a device using the name set and following payload:

{
  "on": true,
  "relay": "left"
}

The result on my end is something like this:

{
  "topic": "structure/xxxxx/command", 
  "payload": "{\"name\":\"set\",\"payload\":{\"on\":true,\"relay\":\"left\"},\"time\":{\"$date\":\"2016-04-13T20:46:19.768Z\"}}", 
  "qos": 0, 
  "retain": false, 
  "_msgid": "a4f3545b.5b0ca8" }
}

Why is the payload stringified? This is somewhat unexpected, and requires extra work on my end. FWIW, “my end” is Node-Red, and I need to use a parse node (to call JSON.parse() on the payload field), followed by a change node to normalize the data.

Granted, JSON is not the only thing you can send over MQTT, so this makes sense, but since the UI requires a valid JSON object, I’d expect the command to be parsed before publishing. From the MQTT specification, payload can be anything, yes? I’m an MQTT novice, so pardon my ignorance.

I would expect this message to look something like this:

{
  "topic": "structure/xxxxx/command", 
  "payload": {
    "name": "set",
    "data": {
      "on": true,
      "relay": "left"
    },
    "time": {
      "$date": "2016-04-13T20:46:19.768Z"
    }
  },
  "qos": 0,
  "retain": false,
  "_msgid": "a4f3545b.5b0ca8"
}

While I’m here, what’s the significance of $date?

Since JSON doesn’t have built-in support for dates, we use the EJSON spec to represent date objects. Basically when time is parsed using EJSON, the value will be an actual JavaScript date object. A little more data can be found in our MQTT docs.

1 Like

You are correct, an MQTT payload can be anything. Losant uses JSON as the payload data format. Since MQTT payloads can be anything, your MQTT client doesn’t know that it should automatically parse the data, so it just keeps it as a string. I’m not sure what language you are using as a client, but we do offer a Node.js client that takes care of the parsing for you.