Alexa Submission Fail — Now What?

I initially discovered Losant through this blog post, and decided to give making a Custom Skill for Alexa a whirl.

(I’ve previously made a Flash Briefing skill — which also requires no code — but wanted to make the same content available as a Custom Skill that can be accessed outside of one’s Flash Briefing feed.)

I followed the steps outlined in the blog above, but got this response from Amazon :confused:

The skill simply plays an audio file. That’s it.

But as I’m new to coding I have no clue what skill endpoint validation is, or why it’s not accepting valid signed requests… Help?

Hi Chris, the screenshot you sent says that steps to reproduce the errors are included but I see none; is there any more information in the note you received from Amazon that you can include?

I haven’t done a deep dive yet but one thing I see in your workflow is you do have a conditional branch where you are not issuing a reply to the webhook (where your “Store Value” node is). It could be that the request from Amazon is timing out because no response is being sent for certain scenarios they’re throwing at it.

@Brandon_Cannaday may have more insight as he was the author of the original article you followed.

1 Like

Dylan,

Thanks! This is very helpful for me.

Below is the second half of the email — I didn’t include it previously because I think I’ve solved the additional described issues… (That being said, what do I know?)

I’m also perplexed about the lack of information on the “steps to reproduce” to solve the issues.

I’ll begin thinking/working on a reply for the conditional branch you mentioned.

Any other thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Ah yes, issue #2 is going to be a fun one. I’ll work on making an example that demonstrates how to do the certificate validation within the workflow.

1 Like

Nice! Thanks @Brandon_Cannaday— really appreciate the follow-up help here.