Openwrt based router mosquitto bridge fails to connect using TLS - lib(20) us unable to get local issuer certificate

Hi

I am working with a new device to simplify the deployment of Losant.
It is an openwrt modem/router with some hardware I/O

I can successfully connect it in bridge mode to losant but unsecure. I am trying to establish a TLS connection. However I get the following error.

1570665206: Connecting bridge Losant (broker.losant.com:8883)
1570665206: Bridge 5c80629330bca9000848e855 sending CONNECT
1570665207: OpenSSL Error: error:14090086:lib(20):func(144):reason(134)
1570665207: Socket error on client local.5c80629330bca9000848e855, disconnecting.

error lib(20) us unable to get local issuer certificate

I am new to openwrt and normally am doing everything through python or mosquitto bridge on full linux.
So looking for some advice :wink:

Connecting via openssl provides some more details

r oot@Teltonika-RUT955:/etc# openssl s_client -connect broker.losant.com:8883 -CAfile /lib/uci/upload/cbid.mosquitto.mqtt.bridge_cafile -CApath /etc
CONNECTED(00000003)
depth=1 C = US, O = DigiCert Inc, CN = DigiCert SHA2 Secure Server CA
verify error:num=20:unable to get local issuer certificate
—
Certificate chain
0 s:/C=US/ST=Ohio/L=Cincinnati/O=Losant IoT, Inc./CN=.losant.com
i:/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/CN=DigiCert SHA2 Secure Server CA
1 s:/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/CN=DigiCert SHA2 Secure Server CA
i:/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/OU=www.digicert.com/CN=DigiCert Global Root CA
—
Server certificate
-----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
MIIGnjCCBYagAwIBAgIQB1hRcQwEBmL0kIZXyjqaYzANBgkqhkiG9w0BAQsFADBN
…
-----END CERTIFICATE-----
subject=/C=US/ST=Ohio/L=Cincinnati/O=Losant IoT, Inc./CN=
.losant.com
issuer=/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/CN=DigiCert SHA2 Secure Server CA
—
No client certificate CA names sent
Client Certificate Types: RSA sign, DSA sign, ECDSA sign