Allow structured JSON data for device attributes

I’m new to Losant, and it looks great so far! I’m using it to monitor machines that have rather complex notions of “status,” including inventory counts for several items that the machines sell. To the best of my knowledge, we can’t use nested objects as device attributes, so I thought I might start a conversation on whether that is something the team has considered.

For example, it would be awesome if I could define my device’s attributes as a JSON object (using some shorthand here):

{
  inventory: {
    item1: {
      name: string,
      count: number
    },
    item2: {
      name: string,
      count: number
    }
  }
}

Even better if the data object could contain an array of other objects, rather than explicitly enumerating each item in the list (item1, item2, etc.).

I realize this is pretty complex compared to a flat list of attributes, but it would be awesome to, for example, trigger a conditional on payload.inventory.item1.count (or, better, payload.inventory.items[0].count) instead of trying to pack all of this type of nested attribute into a flat list. The only way I can picture doing this now is to “unroll” my nested object into a flat structure, giving rise to attribute names like inventory-items-0-count.

I noticed that the home page suggests some food-service vendors use Losant for inventory; do you have any advice on how to track more complex state like this?

Thanks!
Travis

1 Like

This is an interesting use-case and something we had not previously considered. We have a food service company using weight to track inventory. They treat each item as a separate device, which I believe would also work in your scenario as well.